2017/11/03 14:25


Gulfstream Park

October 31 & 31, 1992

The Breeders’ Cup returned to Florida and the horses were greeted temperatures reaching 90 degrees. The day began with Thirty Slews, ridden by Eddie Delahoussaye, winning the Sprint for a young former Quarter Horse trainer named Bob Baffert.  Jockey Chris McCarron rode two winners, first on Paseana in the Distaff and the Gilded Time, co-owned by director and screenwriter David Milch, in the Juvenile.  Delahoussaye would return to the winner’s circle with A.P. Indy, riding the 3-year-old to victory in the Breeders’ Cup Classic. A.P. Indy became the fifth Classic winner to be voted Horse of the Year.

1992 Breeders’ Cup Results

Replay Race Winning Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
Classic A. P. Indy E. Delahoussaye N. Drysdale T. Tsurumaki, W. Farish, W. Kilroy, H. Goodman
Sentient Jet Juvenile Gilded Time C. McCarron D. Vienna David Milch, Jack Silverman & Mark Silverman
Longines Distaff Paseana (ARG) C. McCarron R. McAnally Sidney H. Craig
Longines Turf Fraise P. Valenzuela W. Mott Madeleine Paulson
Mile Lure M. Smith C. McGaughey III Claiborne Farm & Nicole Perry Gorman
14 Hands Winery Juvenile Fillies Eliza P. Valenzuela A. Hassinger Jr. Allen E. Paulson
TwinSpires Sprint Thirty Slews E. Delahoussaye B. Baffert Mitch Degroot, Dutch Masters III & Mike Pegram