The 2011 Breeders’ Cup

Churchill Downs

November 4 & 5, 2011

Attendance: 105,820
Handle: $161,512,867
Races: 15
Weather: 58°

Churchill Downs played host to the Breeders’ Cup for the second consecutive year and for a record eighth time. The Breeders’ Cup added a new race for 2011, the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Sprint for 2-year-olds at three- quarters-of a mile. The Juvenile Sprint was the first race on Friday and it was won by the Bob Baffert-trained Secret Circle. The 3-year-old Royal Delta won the Ladies’ Classic, giving trainer Bill Mott his fourth victory in that race. Goldikova tried to win the Breeders’ Cup Mile for the fourth consecutive year, but she could get no closer than third place as Court Vision, at nearly 65-1, defeated Turallure by a nose. The title of Horse of the Year would be decided in the Classic. The 4-year-old filly Havre de Grace, last year’s Juvenile Champion Uncle Mo, and Santa Anita Handicap winner Game on Dude were the main contenders. From the starting gate and through the stretch, Game on Dude, ridden by Chantal Sutherland, was on his way to winning the Classic when, from the far outside, the 4-year-old Drosselmeyer came grinding down the track to win by 1 ½ lengths. It was sweet retribution for Drosselmeyer’s jockey, Mike Smith, who lost last year’s Classic on Zenyatta. Smith also tied Jerry Bailey for all-time Breeders’ Cup victories with 15.

2011 Breeders’ Cup Champions

Race Winning Horse Jockey Trainer Owner Breeder
Classic 2011 Breeders' Cup Classic Drosselmeyer M. Smith W. Mott WinStar Farm LLC Aaron U. Jones & Marie D. Jones
TVG Mile 2011 Breeders' Cup Mile Court Vision R. Albarado D. Romans Spendthrift Farm LLC W. S. Farish & Kilroy Thoroughbred Partnership
Dirt Mile 2011 Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile Caleb's Posse R. Maragh D. Von Hemel McNeil Stables, LLC and Cheyenne Stables, LLC Don C. McNeill
Emirates Airline Filly & Mare Turf 2011 Breeders' Cup Filly & Mare Turf Perfect Shirl J. Velazquez R. Attfield Charles E. Fipke Charles Fipke
Grey Goose Juvenile Fillies 2011 Grey Goose Juvenile Fillies My Miss Aurelia C. Nakatani S. Asmussen Stonestreet Stables and George Bolton Stonestreet Thoroughbred Holdings LLC
Juvenile Turf 2011 Breeders' Cup Juvenile Turf Wrote (IRE) R. Moore A. O'Brien Mrs. John Magnier, Michael Tabor and Derrick Smith Speers Bloodstock Ltd
Sentient Jet Sprint 2011 Breeders' Cup Sprint Amazombie M. Smith W. Spawr Thomas C. Sanford and William Spawr Gregg Anderson
Turf Sprint 2011 Breeders' Cup Turf Sprint Regally Ready C. Nakatani S. Asmussen Vinery Stables Grapestock LLC
Sentient Jet Filly & Mare Sprint 2011 Breeders' Cup Filly & Mare Sprint Musical Romance J. Leyva W. Kaplan Pinnacle Racing Stable and William A. Kaplan Ocala Stud
Grey Goose Juvenile 2011 Grey Goose Juvenile Hansen R. Dominguez M. Maker Kendall Hansen, M.D. and Sky Chai Racing Dr. Kendall Hansen
Juvenile Fillies Turf 2011 Breeders' Cup Juvenile Fillies Turf Stephanie's Kitten J. Velazquez W. Catalano Kenneth L. & Sarah K. Ramsey Kenneth L. Ramsey & Sarah K. Ramsey
Ladies' Classic 2011 Breeders' Cup Ladies' Classic Royal Delta J. Lezcano W. Mott Palides Investments N.V., Inc Palides Investments N.V., Inc
Marathon 2011 Breeders' Cup Marathon Afleet Again C. Velasquez R. Reid Jr Kasey K Racing Stable Roll Z Dice Racing Stable
Emirates Airline Turf 2011 Breeders' Cup Turf St Nicholas Abbey (IRE) J. O'Brien A. O'Brien Mrs. John Magnier, Michael Tabor and Derrick Smith Barton Bloodstock & Villiers Synd
Sentient Jet Juvenile Sprint 2011 Breeders' Cup Juvenile Sprint Secret Circle R. Bejarano B. Baffert Karl Watson, Michael E. Pegram and Paul Weitman Willmott Stables

We're processing your donation

Do not refresh this page.