Press Release

Mike Smith Wins 14th Bill Shoemaker Award

ARCADIA, Calif. (Nov. 5, 2016) — Mike Smith, who won three races and finished second in three others won the 14th Bill Shoemaker Award, given to the most outstanding jockey of the 2016 Breeders’ Cup World Championships at Santa Anita Park. The Shoemaker Award is based on a 10-5-3-1 scoring system on first- through fourth-place finishes in each of the 13 Breeders’ Cup World Championship races. Smith finished with 48 points to out distance Joel Rosario who had 28 points. Smith was the only rider to win more than one race. Smith, who previously had won the Shoemaker Award at the 2012 and 2013 renewals, won Friday’s Las Vegas Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile on Tamarkuz, Saturday’s Filly & Mare Sprint on Finest City and capped off the weekend with a victory in the Classic on Arrogate. Smith also finished second in Friday’s Longines Distaff on Songbird and in the Juvenile Fillies Turf on Coasted with Saturday’s runner-up finish coming on Masochistic in the TwinSpires Breeders’ Cup Sprint. Smith finished third on American Gal in Saturday’s 14 Hands Winery Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies. The Shoemaker Award is named in honor of one of the greatest jockeys in the history of Thoroughbred racing. Shoemaker, who captured the Kentucky Derby four times, won more than 8,800 races in a career that spanned more than 40 years. In 1987, at age 56, Shoemaker won the Breeders’ Cup Classic aboard Ferdinand at Hollywood Park. Bill Shoemaker Award winners 2003: Alex Solis 2004: John Velazquez 2005: Garrett Gomez 2006: Frankie Dettori 2007: Garrett Gomez 2008: Garrett Gomez 2009: Julien Leparoux 2010: Garrett Gomez 2011: John Velazquez 2012: Mike Smith 2013: Mike Smith 2014: John Velazquez 2015: Ryan Moore 2016: Mike Smith

Stay Connected

More News