Thursday, May 24, 2012
LEXINGTON, Ky. (May 24, 2012) – The Breeders’ Cup has announced that 22 individuals are on the ballot for the election of 16 Breeders’ Cup Members. On June 4, the Breeders’ Cup election web site will open for current Breeders’ Cup foal and stallion nominators to begin the election process. Of the 22 candidates on the ballot, nine are Members standing for re-election. Each elected Member will serve a four-year term.

Members are elected every other year by Breeders’ Cup foal and stallion nominators through a proportional voting system based on the level of nominations paid to the organization. There are a total of 39 elected Breeders’ Cup Members. The Members meet each July for the election of individuals to the 13-person Breeders’ Cup Board of Directors, which oversees the activities of the organization.

The 22 candidates for the Members election are:

John Adger
Craig Bandoroff
Barbara Banke
George Bolton
Jack Brothers*
Doug Cauthen*
Lincoln Collins
Lucy Young Hamilton*
George Isaacs
Andreas Jacobs
W. Bruce Lunsford
Michael J. McMahon
Clem Murphy*
Maria Niarchos-Gouaze*
Bill Oppenheim*
J. David Richardson, MD
Don Robinson*
Mike Rogers
W. Elliott Walden
Charlotte Weber*
Barry Weisbord*
David Wildenstein

*Denotes Member up for re-election

About Breeders’ Cup

The Breeders’ Cup administers the Breeders’ Cup World Championships, Thoroughbred racing’s year-end Championships. The Breeders’ Cup also administers the Breeders’ Cup Challenge qualifying series, which provides automatic starting positions into the Championships races. The 2012 Breeders’ Cup World Championships, consisting of 15 races and purses totaling more than $25 million will be held Nov. 2-3 at Santa Anita Park in Arcadia, Calif., and will be televised live by the NBC Sports Network. Breeders’ Cup press releases appear on the Breeders’ Cup Web site, You can also follow the Breeders’ Cup on social media platforms, Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube.