Tuesday, June 12, 2012
LEXINGTON, Ky. (June 12, 2012) – The Breeders' Cup announced today that 16 individuals have won election to serve as Breeders’ Cup Members. Election voting by Breeders’ Cup foal and stallion nominators was concluded at 5:00 p.m. ET on June 8. The election results are expected to be ratified by the current Breeders' Cup Members at the annual meeting on July 11.

The 16 elected Members, who will each serve a four-year term, are listed alphabetically below:

  • John Adger
  • Barbara Banke
  • George Bolton
  • Jack Brothers
  • Doug Cauthen
  • Dr. Andreas Jacobs
  • W. Bruce Lunsford
  • Clem Murphy
  • Maria Niarchos-Gouaze
  • Bill Oppenheim
  • Dr. J. David Richardson
  • Don Robinson
  • W. Elliott Walden
  • Charlotte Weber
  • Barry Weisbord
  • David Wildenstein

The following eight Members were re-elected to their posts: Jack Brothers, Doug Cauthen, Clem Murphy, Maria Niarchos-Gouaze, Bill Oppenheim, Don Robinson, Charlotte Weber and Barry Weisbord.

Voting, which began on June 4 with 22 candidates on the ballot, was conducted online. Complete elections results may be obtained at the following link: members.breederscup.com/election

“We congratulate our new and returning Members to the Breeders’ Cup and look forward to their distinguished service and expertise over the next four years in contributing to the growth of our organization,” said Breeders’ Cup Chairman Tom Ludt.

The Breeders’ Cup Members are elected every other year by Breeders’ Cup foal and stallion nominators through a proportional voting system based on the level of nominations paid to the organization. There are a total of 39 elected Breeders’ Cup Members. The Members meet each July for the election of individuals to the 13-person Breeders’ Cup Board of Directors, which oversees the activities of the organization.

About Breeders’ Cup

The Breeders’ Cup administers the Breeders’ Cup World Championships, Thoroughbred racing’s year-end Championships. The Breeders’ Cup also administers the Breeders’ Cup Challenge qualifying series, which provides automatic starting positions into the Championships races. The 2012 Breeders’ Cup World Championships, consisting of 15 races and purses totaling more than $25 million will be held Nov. 2-3 at Santa Anita Park in Arcadia, Calif., and will be televised live by the NBC Sports Network. Breeders’ Cup press releases appear on the Breeders’ Cup Web site, www.breederscup.com. You can also follow the Breeders’ Cup on social media platforms, Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube.